Technical Teams

The Longleaf Partnership Council also hosts a number of Technical Teams that bring together experts and other interested people to focus on issues that are critical to longleaf restoration. Topics range from prescribed fire to understory restoration to education and outreach. These teams offer an opportunity for anyone, not just Council members, to get involved and contribute their expertise.

Education and Outreach
Roel Lopez Texas A&M University roel@tamu.edu - 979-845-4067
Rhett Johnson The Longleaf Alliance rhett@longleafalliance.org - 334-427-1029
Communications
Lark Hayes In support of U.S. Forest Service lark.hayes@larkconsult.com - 919-688-6008
Stephanie Hertz Texas A&M University stephanie.hertz@ag.tamu.edu - 214-334-6643
Longleaf Seedling Supply
Mark Hainds The Longleaf Alliance mark@longleafalliance.org - 334-427-1029
Native Understory Plant Supply
Carol Denhof The Longleaf Alliance carol@longleafalliance.org - 678-595-6405
Vic Vankus U.S. Forest Service vvankus@fs.fed.us - 478-258-4742
Prescribed Fire and Smoke Management – (SERPPAS Work Group)
Tom Darden The Endowment for Forestry and Communities tldarden01@bellsouth.net - 404-520-4246
Research and Development
Rhett Johnson The Longleaf Alliance rhett@longleafalliance.org - 334-427-1029
Greg Ruark U.S. Forest Service, Southern Research Station gruark@fs.fed.us - 828-257-4306
Economics
Rhett Johnson The Longleaf Alliance rhett@longleafalliance.org - 334-427-1029
Greg Ruark U.S. Forest Service, Southern Research Station gruark@fs.fed.us - 828-257-4306
Assessment and Reporting
Glen Gaines U.S. Forest Service ggaines@fs.fed.us - 404-273-1582
Clay Ware U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Clay_Ware@fws.gov - 404-679-4016
Policy Monitoring
Troy Ettel The Nature Conservancy tettel@tnc.org - 404-253-7217