Local Implementation Teams

As envisioned in the Conservation Plan, implementation of on-the-ground restoration efforts requires coordination at the state and local levels across agencies and across all lands. So far, implementation teams and other collaborative efforts have formed in 17 locations across 9 states, as shown by the map below. The implementation teams are taking on tasks including:

  • Convening multi-stakeholder efforts to support longleaf pine restoration;
  • Developing maps and information as well as providing a forum for developing priorities for restoration; and
  • Identifying and following through with landowners and managers to fund, implement, and evaluate restoration projects.

The various Local Implementation Teams are highlighted in The Nature Conservancy's "Longleaf Pine - Protecting and Restoring an American Treasure".

Virginia

Virginia State Coordination
Jim Schroering Virginia Department of Forestry jim.schroering@dof.virginia.gov
Virginia Longleaf Pine Cooperators Group
Brian Van Eerden The Nature Conservancy bvaneerden@tnc.org

North Carolina

North Carolina Longleaf Coalition (State Coordination Team)
Sarah Crate North Carolina Forest Service Sarah.Crate@ncagr.gov
North Carolina Sandhills Conservation Partnership
Susan Miller U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Susan_Miller@fws.gov
Jeff Marcus The Nature Conservancy jmarcus@tnc.org
Onslow Bight Conservation Forum
Hervey McIver The Nature Conservancy hmciver@tnc.org
Cape Fear Arch Conservation Collaboration
Angie Carl The Nature Conservancy acarl@tnc.org
Debbie Maurer The Nature Conservancy dmaurer@tnc.org

South Carolina

South Carolina State Coordination Team
Russell Hubright South Carolina Forestry Commission rhubright@forestry.state.sc.us
Sandhills Longleaf Pine Conservation Partnership
Charles Babb Sandhills Longleaf Pine Conservation Partnership charlesbabb81@gmail.com
Southern Low Country/ACE Basin
Bobby Franklin The Longleaf Alliance bobby@longleafalliance.org
Sewee Longleaf Conservation Cooperative
Patrick Ma The Nature Conservancy patrick.ma@tnc.org

Georgia/Alabama

Alabama Longleaf Ecosystem Restoration Team (State Coordination Team)
Tim Albritton USDA-NRCS, AL Tim.Albritton@al.usda.gov
Ad Platt The Longleaf Alliance ad@longleafalliance.org
David Kelley Alabama Forestry Commission David.Kelley@forestry.alabama.gov
William Brantley Alabama Forestry Commission William.Brantley@forestry.alabama.gov
Talladega-Mountain Longleaf Conservation Partnership
Alex Varner The Nature Conservancy avarner@tnc.org
Chattahoochee Fall Line Conservation Partnership
LuAnn Craighton The Nature Conservancy lcraighton@tnc.org
East Gulf Coastal Plain Joint Venture
Catherine Rideout U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Catherine_Rideout@fws.gov

Georgia

Georgia State Coordination
Ryan Phillips Georgia Forestry Commission rphillips@gfc.state.ga.us
Fort Stewart/Altamaha Partnership
Randy Tate The Longleaf Alliance randy@longleafalliance.org

Florida/Georgia

Osceola National Forest/ Okefenokee NWR
Alison McGee The Nature Conservancy amcgee@tnc.org
Rebecca Shelton The Nature Conservancy rebecca.shelton@tnc.org
Apalachicola Regional Stewardship Alliance
Brian Pelc The Nature Conservancy bpelc@tnc.org

Florida

Florida State Coordination
Bonnie Stine Florida Forest Service Bonnie.Stine@freshfromflorida.com
Ocala Local Implementation Team
Ivor Kincaide Alachua Conservation Trust act.landmanager@gmail.com
Cheryl Millett The Nature Conservancy cmillett@tnc.org

Florida/Alabama

Gulf Coastal Plain Ecosystem Partnership
Vernon Compton The Longleaf Alliance vernon@longleafalliance.org

Mississippi

Mississippi Longleaf Coordination Team (State Coordination Team)
Richard McInnis Mississippi Forestry Commission rmcinnis@mfc.state.ms.us
Desoto/Camp Shelby Longleaf Implementation Team
Becky Stowe The Nature Conservancy of MS rstowe@tnc.org

Louisiana

Louisiana State Coordination
CC Richmond Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries CRichmond@wlf.la.gov
West-Central Lousiana Ecosystem Partnership
Dan Weber The Nature Conservancy dweber@tnc.org

Texas

Texas State Coordination
Shane Harrington Texas A&M Forest Service sharrington@tfs.tamu.edu
Texas Longleaf Implementation Team
Jenny Sanders jennyreneesanders@gmail.com
Bill Bartush American Bird Conservancy bbartush@abcbirds.org